English: Books

The spirited and scholarly #1 New York Times bestseller combines boisterous history with grammar how-to's to show how important punctuation is in our world--period.

This English reference source is divided into three sections. Part One- A Guide for Writers covers mastering grammar, usage and punctuation, as well as preparing and marking up a manuscript and enhancing vocabulary. Part Two contains a concise dictionary and thesaurus. Part Three serves as a ready reference guide of information.

A clear, concise writing style is the key to making your ideas stand out and keeping your career on track.

Millions of people around the world communicate better thanks to Mignon Fogarty, aka Grammar Girl, whose top-rated weekly grammar podcast has been downloaded more than 30 million times.

Millions of people around the world communicate better thanks to Mignon Fogarty, aka Grammar Girl, now she’s turning her attention to improving our vocabulary—one smart word at a time. Are you often stumped for the perfect way to say or write something? This handy reference guide contains 101 words that will enhance your writing, adding nuance, subtlety, and insight. Using these words in speeches, you'll sound confident and articulate--a skill that will benefit you for years to come.

Are you stumped by split infinitives? Terrified of using “who” when a “whom” is called for? Do you avoid the words “affect” and “effect” altogether?
Grammar Girl is here to help!

A fast, easy, and fun look at everything students need to know when writing a research paper: how to choose a topic, complete the research, and compose the report.

This handbook is developed around students' real writing needs, offering advice on the writing and research process, as well as specific guidance on punctuation, mechanics, usage and a wide variety of common assignments.

They Say, I Say demystifies academic writing by identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing.

This thesaurus contains not only suggestions of alternative words for each word included but also mini definitions of the words, as well as synonyms and antonyms. A usage guide, thematic index and supplementary word lists are also included.

In this new Woe Is I, Patricia T. O'Conner displays the same fresh, irreverent humor that has charmed hundreds of thousands of readers. There are new chapters on spelling and pronunciation, and updates throughout. But you'll find the same down-to-earth explanations in clear, plain English-the same sensible solutions to the grammar mysteries that bug even the best of us.

Within the A-Z arrangement of brief, to-the-point articles, entries on catalogue and catalog, dived and dove, fitted and fit, freshman and fresher, titbit and tidbit celebrate transatlantic differences, some rather subtle, others more pointed.

The Copyeditor's Handbook is a lively, practical manual for newcomers to publishing and for experienced editors who want to fine-tune their skills or broaden their understanding of the craft. Addressed to copyeditors in book publishing and corporate communications, this thoughtful handbook explains what copyeditors do, what they look for when they edit a manuscript, and how they develop the editorial judgment needed to make sound decisions.

This guide sets out to give clear, straightforward advice on avoiding errors in spoken and written English.