LibGuides: Interior Design: Books and Magazines

A Couple from the Shelves

Becoming an Interior Designer by Piotrowski, Christine M.
Call Number: NK 2116.P56 2009
Here's a highly visual overview of the profession, with in-depth material on educational requirements, design specialties, finding a job, and the many directions a career in interior design can take. Featuring informative interviews with working designers, this Second Edition includes updated educational requirements and a list of accredited interior design programs in the United States and Canada.
How to Start a Home Based Interior Design Business by Phillips, Nita
Call Number: HD 2333.P45 2009x
Learn how to develop a business plan, estimate your start-up costs, price your services, and stay profitable once you’re in business. Read all about getting clients and referrals, outshining the competition, bidding competitively, establishing your daily schedule, organizing your business, getting paid, and much more.
Starting Your Career as an Interior Designer by Hale, Robert K. and Williams, Thomas L.
Call Number: NK 2116.H34 2009
This book contains all the necessary tools and strategies to successfully launch and grow a professional design business in the competitive world of interior design. Drawing on the authors' extensive experience, this book includes case studies and personal anecdotes that help teach choosing a design field, obtaining and keeping clients, marketing and positioning your business, and many more topics.

How to find Books and Magazines

The Ensign College Library has some quick and easy ways to find books, magazines, and DVDs on Interior Design topics:

Interior Design Ebooks (Ebrary)
Find ebooks using Ebrary.
Library Advanced Search
eBook Collection (EBSCO host)

Encyclopedias

American Decades, 1900-1909 by Manly; Vincent Tompkins (Editor)
ISBN: 0810357224
Publication Date: 1996-03-26
American Decades by Carol Nagel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414436067
Publication Date: 2011-06-27
Encyclopedia of Interior Design by Joanna Banham (Editor)
Call Number: NK 1165 .E48 1997
ISBN: 1884964192
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Part of our Reference Collection.

Interior Design Magazines- Digital

These titles are all available through our library databases. The dates vary by title, be sure to check out the coverage!

Architect
Provides business tips and design ideas for industry professionals.
Architectural Digest
Magazine showcases residences throughout the world. Presents outstanding residential interiores. It exemplifies fine art, antiques, architecture, and gardens.
Architectural Lighting
Architectural Record
GreenSource: The Magazine for Sustainable Design
House Beautiful
Interior Design
Metropolis: Architecture Design
The Futurist
The Magazine Antiques
Veranda

Print Magazines

These print magazines are all available on the 3rd floor of the library, and are arranged alphabetically by title. They can be used in-library, but the current issues can not checked out. If you want to check out a back-issue, ask at the circulation desk.

Dwell
Elle Decor
Fine Home Building
Luxe Interiors and Design
This Old House
Traditional Home
Vogue Living