Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles from Art Databases
All of these databases should work from off campus. If you try to access them from off campus and they do not work please email the librarian and let us know so we can fix the problem. Thank You.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts periodicals in art, archaeology, architecture, design, photography, film, theatre, and television, animation, etc. Includes reviews of books, art exhibitions, films, and plays, and art reproductions in journals.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Camio Art Images Online This link opens in a new window
A large collection of art images from various art museums around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database for the sciences and humanities. Articles on literature, art, and more.
The Mandala Book by
Call Number: BL 604 .M36 C87 2010
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
The Mandala Book is a visual symphony, filled with 500 stunning mandalic images from nature and civilization.
Drawing from history, science, religion, and art, Lori Bailey Cunningham leads a journey that spans from prehistoric petroglyphs to Carl Jung, from tiny particles of matter to entire galaxies. She explains the concepts of mandalas, showing how they are at the root of life itself.
Keys to Drawing by
Call Number: NC 730 .D56 1985
Publication Date: 1990-08-15
In this book, Bert Dodson shares his complete drawing system—fifty-five keys" that you can use to render any subject with confidence, even if you're a beginner.
These keys, along with dozens of practice exercises, will help you draw like an artist in no time.
The Drawing Bible by
Call Number: NC 730 .N45 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-06
This is your complete guide to drawing--packed with everything you need to know about materials, techniques and drawing styles. Learn the secrets of rendering any subject correctly and creatively in an amazing array of mediums from pencil to full color. Quickly find the answers to common problems and questions so you can get back to the drawing board. The Drawing Bible is a handy, one-stop reference that beginners and experience artists simply can't be without!
A Guide to Drawing by
Call Number: NC 730 .M396 2007
The Art of Perspective by
Call Number: NC 750 .L385 2011
Publication Date: 2007-06-12
The Art of Perspective offers simple but powerful techniques for achieving a convincing illusion of depth and distance, whether it's a few inches in a still life or miles in a landscape.
Louvre: 400 Masterpieces by
Call Number: N 2030.S68 2008
Since first opening its doors in 1793, the Louvre has become one of the largest and most famous museums in the world and, with 8.3 million visitors per year, it is also the most visited. Louvre: 400 Masterpieces showcases a selection of works from this great institution, from the most famous—the Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa—to lesser-known gems.
Lessons on Shading by
This time-honored guide shows artists how to introduce shadow, light, gradation, and reflection to drawings. Filled with illuminating advice on deepening volume, evoking sunlight, and creating mood, this fascinating study also relates the different shading techniques necessitated by pyramids, cones, spheres, vases, and other shapes. Features 87 expert illustrations.
Architecture of the Ancient Ones by
Call Number: E 99 .P9 B725 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-28
For more than a hundred years, archaeologists have worked in the Southwest attempting to learn more about the Anasazi, now called Ancient Ones, who once lived in the massive stone buildings at such places as Chaco, Canyon de Chelly, and Navajo National Monument. In ARCHITECTURE OF THE ANCIENT ONES, photographer Val Brinkerhoff takes us on a quiet walk among the visually stunning ruins left behind, through which much has been learned about the Ancient Ones of 800 years ago. These archaelogical treasures are places of great presence, power, and peace. Featuring unique juxtapositions of hand-hewn stone nestled admist unusual rock forms in the American Southwest desert landscape, these ancient Native American dwelling sites are places of refuge for modern-day man.
Subjects: Accounting and Personal Finance
, General Courses
, Health and Medical Assisting
, History and Government
, Information Technology
, Interior Design
, Library Resources and Materials
, Math and Statistics
, News and Hot Topics
, Social Media
Search hundreds of art museum sites for exhibits and artists. Search according to artist name, title of work, or art museum. You can also browse the listings according to medium, subject, nationality or women artists.
Centre de Pompidu Collections
Access the collections online of the Centre de Pompidou in Paris, France.
Google Art Project
Discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail and easily share with your friends.
Free images of paintings you can download.
Search and browse the online website and collections of the Louvre museum in Paris, France.
National Gallery of Art in Washington DC
Get information about current, past and future exhibits as well as general information about the museum itself.
Access to the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections.