Not all databases contain the same materials. You all have access to several general purpose databases that have information about many topics, but there are also many databases that are more specialized and will have more of the information you are seeking.

There are two or three recommendations for databases to research in underneath each field of study. If you are still having trouble don't hesitate to ask a librarian, we love to help.

Accounting: 

• ProQuest Business Collection
• Business Source Premier

Entrepreneurship:

• ProQuest Business Collection
• EconLit
• Business Source Premier

Global Supply Chain & Operations:

• ProQuest Business Collection
• Business Source Premier

Business Management:

• ProQuest Business Collection
• Business Source Premier

Professional Sales:

• ProQuest Business Collection
• Business Source Premier

Project Management:

• ProQuest Business Collection
• Business Source Premier

Paralegal Studies:

• LegalTrac

Executive Medical Assistant/Medical Assistant:

• Science Direct
• CINAHL
• Health Sources--Nurses Edition

Medical Coding:

• Science Direct
• CINAHL
• Health Sources--Nurses Edition

Interior Design:

• JSTOR
• ProQuest Research Library
• Academic Search Premier

Information Technology:

• Computer Source
• Academic Search Premier

Computer Science:

• Computer Source
• Academic Search Premier
• ProQuest Research Library

Social Media Marketing:

• ProQuest Business Collection
• Business Source Premier
• Academic Search Premier

Applied Technology:

• The librarian will be happy to make recommendations based on your topic.

Consider these criteria when selecting sources. Make sure you choose a source that is credible, objective, and thorough.

 Timeliness

When was it written? Is it recent enough to be relevant?

 Audience

For whom was it written? Is it too complex or too simple?

 Peer Reviewed

Approved by other experts? A scholarly source?

 Format & Writing Quality

Well written? Does it use good spelling and grammar?

 Authority of Author

Is he or she an expert? What is his or her background, education, etc.

 Intent

Does the author intend to inform or persuade the reader? What is the goal of the source?

 Relevancy

Is the scope of the source appropriate? Does it match your topic?

 Reputation of the Publisher

How long has the publisher been in business? Are they highly ranked?

 Objective or Subjective

Is the author presenting information or drawing conclusions for you? Is the language neutral or emotional?

 Bias

Does the source present multiple sides of an issue? Does the author have an agenda?