10 Ways to Evaluate Sources

Consider these criteria when selecting sources. Make sure you choose a source that is credible, objective, and thorough.

Timeliness

When was it written? Is it recent enough to be relevant?

Audience

For whom was it written? Is it too complex or too simple?

Peer Reviewed

Approved by other experts? A scholarly source?

Format & Writing Quality

Well written? Does it use good spelling and grammar?

Authority of Author

Is he or she an expert? What is his or her background, education, etc.

Intent

Does the author intend to inform or persuade the reader? What is the goal of the source?

Relevancy

Is the scope of the source appropriate? Does it match your topic?

Reputation of the Publisher

How long has the publisher been in business? Are they highly ranked?

Objective or Subjective

Is the author presenting information or drawing conclusions for you? Is the language neutral or emotional?

Bias

Does the source present multiple sides of an issue? Does the author have an agenda?

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography consists of a list of sources that you have cited, summarized, and evaluated. Below are some tips for creating an annotated bibliography. For detailed directions on what to include make sure to ask your English teacher and to follow the specific directions you are given. If you need help with creating citations or finding good sources, come by the library! We would love to help you!

Purdue OWL--Annotated Bibliographies
The Online Writing Lab from Purdue University is one of the best resources for using APA styles and citations. The page has examples of paper formats, in-text citations, and full bibliography citations.
Purdue OWL--APA Formatting Guide
The Purdue University OWL citation guides have become a standard tool for students when formatting papers and citations. This source has information on how to build in-text citations, full bibliographic citations, and format papers.

Concise Rules of APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff
ISBN: 9781433805608
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, " provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 143383216X
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

SPaG Sheets

SPaG Sheets

Make sure that you don't have any grammatical or spelling errors in your paper. It lessens your credibility as an author. Many instructors use a SPaG (spelling, punctuation, and grammar) sheets when grading your assignments. Download a PDF of the SPaG sheets or visit the SPaG libguide.

SPAG: Spelling, Punctuation, and Grammar
by Brandon Bowen Last Updated Jun 13, 2017 357 views this year

Copy Editing Marks

Proof Reading Marks
This chart will help you know what different proof reading marks represent on graded and peer reviewed papers.

Finding Articles

An annotated bibliography consists of a list of sources that you have cited, summarized, and evaluated. Below is a list of databases where you can find good sources that you can use to support your argument and to include in your annotated bibliography. If you need help searching a database, come by the library! We would love to help you!

ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
A Business Database- Search business related newspapers, magazines, journals and newspapers.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A general use database, Academic Search Premier has a lot of academic and non-academic journals and magazines to search from. This is a great starting place for sources.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers one hot topic or controversial issue each week. The information usually includes background on the issue, key players on the different sides of the issue, and key statistics for the issue.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC or Education Resource Information Center is a database that focuses on educational issues.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context collects newspaper articles, journal articles, and statistical information about issues that are far reaching. If your topic is an issue that extends beyond the USA, this database will provide some great background information about the issue.
Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
If your topic is health-related, Health Source Consumer Edition will have consumer-geared & relevant articles.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints presents different views of an issue. Topics that have been in the news a lot recently will often have a topics page that represents the various viewpoints on the issue. This is a great database if you are struggling to find a second or third viewpoint for your topic.

English 101: Annotated Bibliography

Don't Forget